John Edwards-Campaign Organization, Wisconsin
Edwards for President, Inc.
On January 2, 2003, Sen. Edwards announced formation of a presidential exploratory committee.  Edwards for President, Inc. is headquartered in Raleigh, North Carolina.  Nick Baldick, a former top Gore operative, is the campaign manager. 

Edwards for President, Inc. Wisconsin Leadership
Madison: 437 W. Gilman
Milwaukee: 131 W. Seeboth, 2nd Floor
and two other offices

State Director John Kraus
(start October 1, 2003)  Comes to the campaign from position as special assistant to State Superintendent Elizabeth Burmaster at the Department of Public Instruction.  Served as communications director of Attorney General Jim Doyle's winning campaign for governor in 2002; as communications director of Elizabeth Burmaster’s 2001 election to State Superintendent of Schools; as communications director for Gore/Lieberman 2000 in Wisconsin; and as campaign manager for Chief Justice Shirley Abrahamson’s 1999 re-election to the Wisconsin Supreme Court. 
Field Director Bill Hyers
Central regional field director for Edwards' Iowa caucus campaign.  A Minnesota native, Hyers served as state field director for the Judi Dutcher for Governor primary campaign and then as regional director for the Minnesota State House DFL Caucus in the 2002 cycle. He has also worked on a number of local campaigns in Duluth and Minneapolis since 2001.  Hyers has a BA in political science from St. Cloud State University in  MN.

Madison office: 5 field people and coordinator for out of state volunteers
Press Secretary Jenni Engebretsen
Press secretary for Edwards' South Carolina primary campaign.  Previously served as Washington press secretary to U.S. Senator Dick Durbin (D-IL); deputy communications director to U.S. Senator Charles Schumer (D-NY); and special assistant to the press secretary during the Clinton Administration. 


State Senator Mark Meyer (District 32, La Crosse)   (announced June 11, 2003)

State Representative Shirley Krug (District 12, Milwaukee) first elected to that office in 1984.   (reported by June 14, 2003)

(announced Feb. 9, 2004)
University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee College Democrats President Ryan Grady

(announced Feb. 13, 2004)
Martin Schreiber - Milwaukee native and longtime Democratic Party leader, served as Governor of Wisconsin from 1977-79, and as lieutenant governor from 1971-79.

State Representative Larry Balow (District 68, Eau Claire) first elected to that office in 1998.

State Representative David Cullen (District 13, Milwaukee) first elected to that office in 1990.

State Representative John Lehman (District 62, Racine) first elected to that office in 1996.

State Representative Jennifer Schilling (District 95, La Crosse) first elected to that office in 2000.

State Representative Dan Schoof (District 45, Beloit) first elected to that office in 1998.

State Representative Amy Sue Vruwink (District 70, Stevens Point) first elected to that office in 2002.

(announced Feb. 14, 2004)
Madison Mayor Dave Cieslewicz

State Representative Terese Berceau (District 76, Madison) first elected to that office in 1998.

State Senator Robert Wirch (District 22, Pleasant Prairie [Kenosha]) first elected to that office in 1996.

State Representative Josh Zepnick (District 9, Milwaukee) first elected to that office in 2002.

former State Senate Majority Leader David Helbach - served in the state Assembly from 1978-83 and in the state Senate from 1983-95; state Senate Majority Leader from 1991-93.

Capital Times (Madison) Feb. 14, 2004
Milwaukee Journal Sentinel Feb. 16, 2004

Copyright © 2003, 2004  Eric M. Appleman/Democracy in Action