P.O. Box 967
Arlington, VA  22216
Phone: 703-894-2004
Fax: 703-894-0770
1195 Elm Street
Manchester, NH  03101
Phone: 603-669-2004
Fax: 603-664-4563

November 6, 2003

Benjamin F. Wilson, Chair
District of Columbia Board of Elections and Ethics
441 Fourth Street, N.W.
Suite 250 North
Washington, D.C. 20001

Dear Chairman Wilson,

I am writing you today with regard to the upcoming District of Columbia Democratic Primary to be held on January 13, 2004.  Specifically, this letter addresses Section 2 of the Presidential Primary Petition and Filing Waiver Emergency Act of2003 ("the Act"). Pursuant to that Section, I am notifying you in writing of my decision to opt out of the January 13,2004 District of Columbia Democratic Primary and withdraw my name from the ballot.

While I have always supported the District of Columbia's fight for equal representation, a decision has been made to respect the Democratic National Committee's rules that preserve the structure of the primary calendar, specifically Rules 10A and 12H, that state that no presidential primary, other than New Hampshire's, may be held prior to the first Tuesday in February, and that presidential candidates refrain from participating in non- binding presidential primaries or straw polls, respectively.

I appreciate the work of all involved in their efforts to gain full representation for the citizens of the District.  I have a long record of always standing with your constituents, as evidenced by my first speech on the floor of the Connecticut Senate in 1979 that addressed the plight of the District's citizens' lack of equal voting rights.  In that vein, I intend to participate in the February 14, 2004 Democratic Caucuses and I look forward to working in the District as the Democratic nominee to fight for its t electoral votes.


                                                                                                                        Joseph I. Lieberman 

cc: Mayor Anthony Williams
Council of the District of Columbia
District of Columbia Democratic State Committee