President George W. Bush-Campaign Organization, Iowa
Plains Regional Chairman - Vin Weber
Midwest Regional Political Director - Karen Slifka
Regional Press Secretary - Merrill Smith
Bush-Cheney '04, Inc.  |  621 E. 9th Street  |  Des Moines 
(Grand Opening May 8, 2004...U.S. Olympic Gold Medalist and Iowa Wrestling Legend Dan Gable, Honorary Vice Chair of BC' 04 Iowa Campaign and U.S. Rep. Tom Latham (IA-04)) 
Chairman David Roederer
(announced as Chairman Oct. 17, 2003)  A small business owner (StrataVizion Consulting Group, Des Moines); recently served as the Economic Development Coordinator for Iowa State University.  Chief of staff for Gov. Terry Branstad, 1991-1995; campaign manager for Gov. Branstad, 1990-1991.  Director of the Iowa Department of Commerce, 1988-1990.  B.A. from the University of Northern Iowa, 1973. 
Executive Director Scott Kopple
Deputy communications director for the U.S. House Government Reform Committee, chaired by Rep. Tom Davis (VA-11).  Campaign manager for Rep. Rob Simmons (CT-2) in his 2002 re-election race.  Grassroots director on Randy Forbesí June 2001 special election campaign for Congress in Virginia's 4th District.  Campaign manager for Rep. Davis in 2000.  B.A. in government and politics from George Mason University.
Communications Director Ann-Marie Hauser
Previously worked on business development at Akin Gump Strauss Hauer Feld LLP in Washington, DC.  Graduate of Texas A&M University.

Regional Field Representatives
West - David Joyslin  Central - Grant Young     SE - Eric Branstad  NE - Annie Palisi

Events Director Sarah Sauber
Graduate of the University of Iowa, with a B.A. in political science, May 2004.  Chair of the University of Iowa College Republicans, 2003-04.
Coalitions Joe Earle
Prior to joining the campaign Earle worked as a field representative for the Republican Party of Iowa in Des Moines.  Graduate of UNI with a degree in political science, 2003; served as chairman of the UNI College Republicans, and in 2002 worked in the field for the Republican Party of Iowa for several months. Native of Grundy Center.

-County Chairs in all 99 counties.

-Social Conservatives State Chair: State Sen. Kitty Rehberg  - from Rowley.  Active in various political campaigns over the years including Jim Nussle for Congress, Joe Kremer for State Representative, and Dan Quayle for President (she was co-chair with then State Sen. Steve King).

-On March 3, 2004, the campaign announced the Bush-Cheney '04 Iowa Farm Team Steering Committee with over 40 members.

Chair: Glen Keppy - past president of the Iowa Pork Producers; farmer in Scott County.
Co-Chair for Agri-business: Rusty Harder - owns E-Markets, an agribusiness in Ames.
Honorary Co-Chairs: Dean Kleckner (immediate past president of the American Farm Bureau Federation, Des Moines) and Merlin Plagge (a past president of the Iowa Farm Bureau Federation; operated a corn and soybean operation in Franklin County).

-Bush-Cheney '04 Iowa Veterans State Chair: Major General Evan "Curly" Hultman (U.S. Army, Ret.)  Hultman is the former executive director of the Reserve Officers Association of the United States and is presently the international representative of the Greater Des Moines, Iowa, Convention and Visitors Bureau. He also serves as the U.S. member of the Confederation Interalliee des Officers de Reserve (CIOR) (NATO Nations).  (May 11, 2004 press release Bush-Cheney '04 National Veterans Steering Committee)

-On July 1, 2004, Secretary of Commerce Don Evans, in Des Moines, announced the Iowa Small Business Leaders for Bush Coalition.
Chair: John Gilliland - at the Iowa Association of Business and Industry since 2001.  Executive director of "Good for Iowa - Vote Yes!" June 29, 1999 constitutional amendment campaign.  Served as Iowa Deputy Secretary of State from 1995-99.  Republican nominee for Secretary of State in 1998.  He has practiced law with the Des Moines firm of Bradshaw, Fowler, Proctor & Fairgrave, P.C.; clerk to the U.S. Attorney Charles W. Larson; judicial clerk in Iowa 's First Judicial District (Hon. Robert E. Mahan).  J.D. from Creighton University; bachelor's degree from Cornell College in Mount Vernon.  Native of Knoxville, IA. 

Iowa Victory 2004
Executive Director Ed Failor, Jr.
(announced Aug. 5, 2004) Taking leave of absence from position as Vice President of the  Muscatine based Iowans for Tax Relief.
Political Director/72 Hour Director Hans Gullickson
Previously worked for the Colorado Republican Party.

Regional Field Coordinators
Caleb Hunter     Nathan Treloar       April Young      Chad Airhart     Angie Lewis     Adrianne Holmes     Ben Christian

Events Director Deanna McCallum
Lobbyist from Des Moines.
Voter Registration/Absentee Ballot
Coordinator of Canvassers/Walkers
Melissa Gesing

IT Director Kyle McCullough

HAVA Coordinator Jamil Jaffer
J.D. from University of Chicago Law School.

Republican Party of Iowa  |  621 E. Ninth Street  |  Des Moines 
Chairman Chuck Larson
Chairman since Jan. 27, 2001; deployed to Iraq in Sept. 2003.  From Cedar Rapids.  State Senator (District 19) since 2002; previously served as a State Representative, 1992-2001.  General Counsel for The ESCO Group, Cedar Rapids, since 1999.  Assistant Jones County Attorney, 1997-99.  University of Iowa, JD, 1996; University of Iowa, BA in Economics, 1992. 
Co-Chairman Leon Mosley
Retired from John Deere.  Member of the Black Hawk County Board of Supervisors since 1991. 
Deputy Chairman/Executive Director Gentry Collins
Collins has taken the role of Deputy Chairman since Larson was deployed to Iraq.  Managed Doug Gross' 2002 campaign for governor.  B.A. in political science from Iowa State University in Ames, 1998.
Communications Director  Kristin Scuderi
Media director for the National Abstinence Clearinghouse, based in Sioux Falls.  Press secretary on Steve Kirby's unsuccessful campaign for the 2002 Republican gubernatorial nomination in South Dakota.  Worked briefly as morning anchor and reporter at KDLT (NBC) in Sioux Falls, SD.  Graduate of Colorado State University in Fort Collins with a degree in journalism.  Grew up on a horse ranch south of Colorado Springs.
IT Administrator Kohlyne Lorton

Caucus-Convention Coordinator Josie Klingaman

Volunteer Coordinator Emma Kreis

Finance Director Darrell Kearney
Senior campaign adviser in Iowa and Midwest finance director on Elizabeth Dole's presidential run in 1999.  Bob Dole's campaign manager in Iowa in 1995 and 1996. 

Copyright © 2004, 2005  Eric M. Appleman/Democracy in Action