President George W. Bush-Campaign Organization, Wisconsin
Great Lakes Regional Chairman - Bob Kjellander
Midwest Regional Political Director - Karen Slifka
Communications - Merrill Smith
Bush-Cheney '04, Inc.  |  2222 No. Mayfair Rd  | Wauwatosa 
(Grand Opening April 5, 2004...Liz Cheney joined by Wisconsin State Reps. Leah Vukmir, Mark Honadel, Curt Gielow and Milwaukee County Executive Scott Walker)
Chair Jim Klauser
(announced as Chairman Sept. 26, 2003) Senior vice president at Wisconsin Energy Corporation since 1998.  Senior partner with the law firm of Dewitt Ross and Stevens, Madison.  Secretary of the Wisconsin Department of Administration, 1986-96.   Attorney and partner with DeWitt, Sundby, Huggett, Schumacher and Morgan, S.C. in Madison, 1980-86.  Klauser has earned three degrees from the University of Wisconsin, Madison, obtaining his B.S. in 1961, J.D. in 1964, and M.A. in political science in 1968.
(announced Sept. 26, 2003)
Congressmen James Sensenbrenner, Tom Petri, Mark Green and Paul Ryan, and State Senate Majority Leader Mary Panzer, Speaker of the House John Gard and Milwaukee County Executive Scott Walker

Executive Director Mark Graul
Graul took a leave of absence from the office of Congressman Mark Green (R-Green Bay), where he has served as chief of staff since 1999.  Graul ran Green's 1998 campaign, when Green was the only Republican to defeat a House Democrat.  From 1991-98 Graul worked as an aide in the Wisconsin State Assembly.  He served in elected office himself as an alderman from the Madison suburb of Fitchburg from 1995-97.  Graul is a native of Wauwatosa, and is a 1992 graduate of the University of Wisconsin.  He, his wife, Patty, and their dog, Glenn, live in the Village of Howard just outside of Green Bay. 
Communications Director John Broehm
Experience includes senior associate at Morgan&Myers, a communications consulting firm in Milwaukee, starting in May 2003; earlier worked as a field representative in Congressman Paul Ryan's (R-WI) district office.

Amy Lunde (Dane County)
Mike Duffy 
Jill Latham 
Ryan Murray 
Jeff Duchrow 
Events Director Heather Weininger
Worked in Congressman Green's congressional office from 1999-2003, serving in several different capacities.
Coalitions Director Ed Eberle
Lobbied for American Education Reform Foundation.  Worked several years as a legislative staffer including for state Rep. Dean Kaufert (R-Neenah) and previously for then state-Rep. Scott Walker.

The campaign recruited over 60,000 volunteers, and reported making over 3 million voter contacts in the last four months of the campaign.

County Chairs in every county.

Bush-Cheney '04 Wisconsin Veterans state chair: Colonel Ray Boland (U.S. Army National Guard, Ret.).  Boland enlisted in the Wisconsin Army National Guard in January 1956 and served two tours of combat duty in Vietnam as an Army aviator and commanded an attack helicopter unit.  He has earned numerous military awards including the Legion of Merit, the Bronze Star, and the Purple Heart.  (May 11, 2004 press release Bush-Cheney '04 National Veterans Steering Committee)

Bush-Cheney '04 Wisconsin Educators for Bush steering committee chair: State Representative Leah Vukmir.  She serves in the Wisconsin State Assembly representing the 14th District (Wauwatosa). 

Bush-Cheney í04 Wisconsin Farm Team: headed by former Wisconsin Farm Bureau President Dan Poulson and comprising 20 prominent farmers representing all of Wisconsinís major agricultural commodities. (announced July 2, 2004)

Wisconsin Viva Bush state chair: Camille Solberg.  She founded the Hispanic American Council of Wisconsin, a nonprofit group in Fond du Lac.

Bush-Cheney '04 Wisconsin Social Conservatives state chair: Ginny Marschman of Waukesha (actually resident of the town of Brookfield since 1973).  In July 2003 she ran in a special election to replace recalled Brookfield Town Supervisor Jeff Timm; she finished first and advanced to an August runoff.  She chaired the Wisconsin chapter of the Christian Coalition in the mid-1990s.  Ran unsuccessfully for Assembly in 1990. 

Bush-Cheney '04 Wisconsin Sportsmen state chair: Greg Dziedzic of Waterford.  He is president of Sporting Heritage Inc, a lobbying group, and has over two decades of experience in sports marketing.  In 1999 he founded Eagle River Productions in his home.  He has served as vice president of the American Bowlers Association.

Wisconsin Students for Bush state chair: Grant Culp.  He is a Marquette junior majoring in history and political science.

Republican Party of Wisconsin |  148 E. Johnson  |  Madison
Chairman Richard W. Graber
Elected Chairman in June 1999.  Previously served as Secretary of the Republican Party of Wisconsin, 1991-99.  Attorney in the Milwaukee office of Reinhart, Boerner, Van Deuren, Norris & Rieselback, s.c.; joined the firm in 1981.  Graduate of Duke University, 1978 and Boston University Law School, 1981.
Executive Director Darrin Schmitz
Managed Gov. Scott McCallum's unsuccessful campaign in 2002.  Executive director of the Bush-Cheney campaign in Wisconsin in 2000.  Before that campaign was press secretary to Gov. Thompson; worked on Thompson's 1998 re-election campaign; speechwriter for Thompson.  From Wascott, WI (90 miles from St. Paul, MN).
Political Director Rick Wiley
[directed the party's Victory 2004 program]  Midwest political manager for Associated Builders and Contractors during the 2000 cycle.  Has also worked as a legislative liasion to former Illinois Comptroller Loleta Didrickson and a legislative assistant to Wisconsin State Representative Gene Hahn (R-De Forest).
Communications Director Chris Lato
(joined the party in May 2001)  Previously worked for 10 years as a radio news eporter/news director, exclusively in Wisconsin.  B.A. in Mass Communications / Journalism from University of Wisconsin-Madison, May 1992.
Finance Director Kelley Willett

Director of Field Operations and 72 Hour Task Force Development Kari Goldade
Office Manager on Congressman Butch Otter's (R-ID) 2002 re-election campaign.  Graduate of Boise State University.
Controller Leslie Oehmen

Member Relations Director & Special Events Coordinator Elizabeth H. Norweb

Telemarketing Manager Richard Dickie



Copyright © 2004, 2005  Eric M. Appleman/Democracy in Action