Contact: Karen Francis, Public Information Officer
Navajo Nation Council Office of the Speaker
(928) 871-7160
DATE: Tuesday, October 19, 2004
On October 19, 2004, during the second of its fall session, the Navajo Nation Council voted to endorse the Democratic candidate for United States President – John F. Kerry – by a vote of 61 in favor and 8 opposed.
Legislation 0649-04 to endorse John Kerry was sponsored by the Council delegate from Hogback, N.M., Ervin Keeswood. Larry Anderson (Fort Defiance) made the motion to consider the legislation and Raymond Maxx (Coalmine Canyon/Toh Nanees Dizi) was the seconding party.
Mr. Keeswood, along with Speaker of the Council Lawrence T. Morgan and President of the Navajo Nation Joe Shirley Jr., previously met with John Kerry during Mr. Kerry’s train ride from Gallup, N.M. to Flagstaff, Ariz.
The Council met with Mr. Kerry’s sister, Diana Kerry, at a luncheon where she thanked the delegates for their endorsement.
“It’s a great honor for me to accept the endorsement for John Kerry,” Ms. Kerry said. “John Kerry has pledged to make a better America for all Americans.”
She said that her brother would respect the sovereign status of Native American tribes and make sure that Native Americans are at the table.
“John Kerry understands the contributions of Native Americans. . . He understands what it is to be in uniform. He will make sure we only go to war when we have to,” Ms. Kerry said.
Speaker Morgan addressed the leaders present at the luncheon, encouraging them to get out the vote among Native people and to let the Navajo people know that the Council has endorsed John Kerry.
Other leaders present at the luncheon included members of the 20th Navajo Nation Council, President Shirley, Arizona State Senator Albert Hale, New Mexico State Senators Leonard Tsosie and John Pinto, and Eddie Basha.