John Edwards-Campaign Organization, Oklahoma
Edwards for President, Inc.
On January 2, 2003, Sen. Edwards announced formation of a presidential exploratory committee.  Edwards for President, Inc. is headquartered in Raleigh, North Carolina.  Nick Baldick, a former top Gore operative, is the campaign manager. 

Edwards for President, Inc. Oklahoma Leadership

Campaign Headquarters: 121 N.E. 52nd, Oklahoma City
State Director Ward Curtin
(announced October 3, 2003)  A lifelong Oklahoman, Curtin came to the campaign from his position as  communications director for the Oklahoma Democratic Party; he has also served as the party's political director.  Curtin has worked on a number of Oklahoma campaigns, including congressional and local races and ballot initiatives.  In 2000, he worked on the Jared Polis for Colorado State Board of Education campaign.  Curtin is a graduate of Northeastern State University and Watonga High School. 
Political Director Jorna Taylor
(announced October 3, 2003)  Taylor served as finance director to Barbara Lawton’s successful 2002 primary race for Wisconsin Lieutenant Governor and then worked for Wisconsin Governor Jim Doyle's successful 2002 general election campaign.  She previously served as outreach director for the Wisconsin Democratic Party, and as a health care field organizer for the American Federation of Teachers.  She also served as president of the University of Wisconsin United Council of Students, representing more than 140,000 students on 24 campuses. 
Deputy Political Director Stephen Cobb

Field Director Chris Gregorich

Following the Jan. 19, 2004 Iowa caucuses over a dozen staffers headed to Oklahoma:

  • Pat Maloney of Cushing, Oklahoma will be the deputy field director in Oklahoma City
  • Katy Hight will be the volunteer coordinator in Oklahoma City
  • Andrew Wenthe will be a field representative for the eastern part of Muskogee County
  • Chad Chitwood will be a field representative for the western part of Muskogee County
  • Chris Fields will be a field representative for Payne County
  • Kinesha Smith will be a field representative in Tulsa County
  • Brian Murray will be a field representative in Tulsa County
  • Jordan Kaplan will be a field representative in Tulsa County
  • Andrew Hayhurst will be a field representative for Bryan, Choctaw, and McCurtain counties
  • Bill Petty will be a field representative for Southwestern Oklahoma based in Comanche county
  • Scotty Coppage will be a field representative in Comanche county
  • Tim Sheehan will be a field representative in Cleveland County
  • Courtney Beitler will be a field representative in Oklahoma County
  • Kristy Young will be a field representative in Oklahoma County
Kim Rubey served as Edwards' Oklahoma press secretary
Rubey, a Jenks, Oklahoma native, was the Iowa press secretary for the Edwards campaign.  Rubey's experience includes press secretary for the DCCC, Midwest communications director for the Gore campaign in 2000, and work for Oklahoma Congressman Mike Synar in his Washington, DC office.  Rubey graduated from Georgetown University with a degree in American Government. 

shortly before the primary
Former University of Oklahoma and Dallas Cowboys football coach Barry Switzer (recorded an autocall message which went out the weekend before the primary).

January 28, 2004
Oklahoma State AFL-CIO President Jim Curry
Central Oklahoma Labor Council President Tim O'Connor
Oklahoma State AFL-CIO Political Director Myrna Burman
Vice President of the Northeastern Labor Council Tom Albaugh
AFL-CIO Executive Board Member Alfred Hobbs
UAW Local 1999 CAP Chairman Garland Pruitt
Vice President of UAW Local 1999 Michael Black

November 25, 2003
State Sen. Jay Paul Gumm, District 6
State Rep. Joe Dorman, Rush Springs
District Attorney Rob Wallace, Poteau.  ...all three had previously backed Graham.

November 6, 2003
State Sen. Ted Fisher - Creek, Okfuskee

State Sen. Ben "Bulldog" Robinson - Muskogee, Wagoner

State Rep. Judy Eason-McIntyre - Tulsa

State Rep. Joe J. Hutchinson - Delaware, Mayes

State Rep. Larry Rice - Mayes, Rogers, Wagoner

Noble County Activist - Anita Norman

June 20, 2003
 State Sen. Kenneth Corn - Le Flore, Sequoyah; Chair-Retirement and Group Health Committee

 State Sen. Kevin Easley - Mayes, Tulsa, Wagoner; Chair-Energy, Environment & Communications Committee

 State Sen. Richard C. LerBlanc - Pittsburg, Latimer, LeFlore, Sequoyah

 State Sen. Mike Morgan - Lincoln, Logan, Payne; Chair-Senate Appropriations Committee

 State Rep. Neil Brannon - LeFlore

 State Rep. Jerry Ellis - McCurtain

 State Rep. Randall Lee Erwin - Choctaw, Pushmataha, LeFlore; Chair-Resources & Regulatory Services Committee

 State Rep. Terry Harrison - Pittsburg, McIntosh

 State Rep. Jerry W. Hefner - Wagoner, Rogers; Chair, Government & Transportation Committee

 State Rep. M.C. Leist - Wagoner, Okmulgee; Chair-Appropriations and Budget Subcommittee on Health and Social Services Committee

 State Rep. Ray Miller - Haskell, Muskogee, Sequoyah, McIntosh, LeFlore; Chair-Career and Technology Education Committee

 State Rep. Billy Mitchell - Cleveland, Garvin, McClain, Grady; Chair-House Appropriations Committee

 State Rep. Bob Plunk - Pontotoc, Pottawatomie; Chair-Small Business & Entrepreneurship Committee

 State Rep. Paul Roan - Atoka, Bryan, Johnston, Pontotoc; Chair-Criminal Justice Committee

 State Rep. Glen "Bud" Smithson - Sequoyah

 State Rep. Barbara Staggs - Muskogee; Chair-Common Education Committee

 State Rep. Gary Taylor - Nowata, Osage, Washington; Chair-County and Municipal Government Committee

 State Rep. Michael Tyler - Creek, Tulsa; Chair-Transportation Committee

 State Rep. Dale Wells - Payne; Chair-Energy and Utility Regulation Committee

 State Rep. Jim Wilson - Cherokee; Chair-Tourism and Recreation Committee

Copyright © 2003, 2004  Eric M. Appleman/Democracy in Action