Dick Gephardt-Campaign Organization, Missouri
Gephardt for President, Inc.
On January 6, 2003, Rep. Gephardt filed papers with the FEC establishing Gephardt for President Exploratory Committee.  The campaign opened its headquarters in a downtown Washington, DC office building in the first part of February 2003.  Gephardt formally announced his campaign on February 19, 2003 in St. Louis, MO.  Steve Murphy is the national campaign manager.

Gephardt for President, Inc. Missouri Leadership

State Director Jason Norton

Gephardt has the support of all of his home state's top Democrats.  On February 1, 2003, the Missouri Campaign for Gephardt for President named the following as honorary co-chairs:
Gov. Bob Holden
Lt. Gov. Joe Maxwell
Attorney General Jay Nixon
Treasurer Nancy Farmer
Auditor Claire McCaskill
U.S. Rep. William (Lacy) Clay, Jr.
U.S. Rep. Karen McCarthy
U.S. Rep. Ike Skelton
Former U.S. Sen. Jean Carnahan
Former U.S. Sen. Thomas F. Eagleton
Former U.S. Rep. Alan Wheat
Former Secretary of State Bekki Cook

On February 28, 2003, the Missouri Campaign named key Kansas City supporters:
Rev. Emanuel Cleaver - National Campaign Adviser
U.S. Representative Karen McCarthy - Honorary Co-Chair of Missouri Committee
State Auditor Claire McCaskill - Honorary Co-Chair of Missouri Committee
Former Jackson County Executive Marsha Murphy - Co-Chair of the National Finance Committee
Woody Overton - Deputy Campaign Director for Western Missouri
Former U.S. Representative Alan Wheat - Honorary Co-Chair of Missouri Committee


On June 10, 2003, the campaign announced Former Secretary of State Bekki Cook, announced as an honorary co-chair on Feb. 1, will serve as Missouri deputy finance director. 

Copyright © 2003  Eric M. Appleman/Democracy in Action