BLACK HAWK 63 precincts
Waterloo - 5 wards x 6 precincts = 30
Cedar Falls - 5 wards x 3 precincts = 15
Black Hawk County County Seat: Waterloo
More Cities and Towns: Cedar Falls, Dunkerton, Elk Run Heights, Evansdale, Gilbertville, Hudson, La Porte City, Raymond.
Population, July 2002 est.: 127,394.    - 4.34% of total IA population of 2,936,760.
Registered Democrats (Active Aug. 1, 2003): 21,626.    - 4.11% of Democratic statewide total of 526,207.

Black Hawk County Reg. (Active Aug. 1, 2003): Rep. 19,153 (27.61%)  Dem. 21,626 (31.18%)   NP 28,579 (41.21%)   Total: 69,358.
Total IA Reg. (Active. Aug. 1, 2003): Rep. 580,252 (32.45%)   Dem. 526,207 (29.43%)  Grn. 135   NP 681,394 (38.11%)  Total: 1,787,988.

Black Hawk County Democratic Elected Officials
State Senators 
(Black Hawk County encompasses Senate Districts 10 and 11 and parts of Districts 9 and 12)
11 - Bill Dotzler of Waterloo 
State Representatives
(Black Hawk County encompasses House Districts 19-22 and parts of 18 and 23)
22 - Deborah Berry of Waterloo 
21 - Don Shoultz of Waterloo 
Supervisor Maggie Stewart
Supervisor Brian Quirk
Supervisor Barbara Leestamper
County Auditor Grant Veeder
County Attorney Tom Ferguson
County Recorder  Pat Sass
County Treasurer Barbara Freet
County Sheriff Mike Kubik
Black Hawk County Democratic Party
Black Hawk County Democratic Party
501 Sycamore Street, Suite 736, Waterloo
County Chair: E.J. Gallagher, III (from Feb. 2003; previously served in 1975-76)
Vice Chair: Joy Lowe
Treasurer: Dave Odekirk
Secretary: Dr. Michael Blackwell
. Useful Links
Waterloo Convention & Visitors Bureau
Waterloo Chamber of Commerce

Northern Iowa College Democrats (UNI)

Waterloo-Cedar Falls Courier
KWWL-7 (NBC-Waterloo)
KUNI-FM 94.5 (public radio, UNI-Cedar Falls)

The Campaigns In Black Hawk County
Dean for America -- 501 Sycamore Street, Suite 631, Waterloo    ...Katie Malague
Edwards for President, Inc.  -- 626 Sycamore Street, Waterloo   ...Jackie Lee, Emily Hauge
Gephardt for President, Inc. -- 306 Jefferson Street, Waterloo  ...Brian?
John Kerry for President, Inc.  --  501 Sycamore Street, Suite 733, Waterloo   ...Rob Hill, Jana Goldstein
Bob Graham for President, Inc. -- 501 Sycamore Street, Suite 730, Waterloo   ...Nadine Pinto

Key Supporters
Titles and affiliations are listed for identification purposes only.
Howard Dean
Black Hawk County Co-Chairs
Rep. Don Shoultz of Waterloo
Betty DeBerg - head, Department of Philosophy and Religion, UNI

Key Iowa Democrats (Nov. 15, 2003)
Supervisor Brian Quirk
Supervisor Barbara Leestamper

Labor Support (Aug. 28, 2003)
Ron McLaughlin - retired UAW President Local 838, Cedar Falls   ...initially announced Aug. 5, 2003
Matt Porter - Vice President of CWA Local 838, Waterloo     ...initially announced Aug. 5, 2003
Helida Vaala, PPME Local #2003, Waterloo
Effie Burt, UAW Local #838, Waterloo
Jim Young, ISEA, Cedar Falls
Judy Fossil, ISEA, Cedar Falls

UNI Students for Dean
Jessica Border

Also backing Dean
Lynn Cutler - who served as Vice Chairperson of the DNC from 1981-93, has roots in this area, having received her B .A. and M .A. degrees from UNI in the 1960s, and being elected the first female member of the Black Hawk County Board of Supervisors in 1974.

John Edwards
(April 4, May 29 and Aug. 22 releases)
Bruce Braley of Waterloo, Iowa Trial Lawyers Board of Governors, Waterloo      ...April 4, 2003
Carolyn Braley - activist, Waterloo    ...Aug. 22, 2003
Thomas Ferguson - Black Hawk County Attorney (first elected 1990)  ...Aug. 22, 2003
Robert Fulton - former Iowa Governor (1969), Waterloo    ...Aug. 22, 2003
Ben Humphrey - activist, Cedar Falls     ...May 29, 2003
Max Kirk - activist, Cedar Falls      ...May 29, 2003
David Knipp - activist, Waterloo    ...Aug. 22, 2003
Beth Knipp - activist, Waterloo ...Aug. 22, 2003
J. Russell Lowe - vice chair, Black Hawk County Democrats, Waterloo      ...May 29, 2003
Kevin Powers - union activist, Waterloo      ...April 4, 2003
Mike Tompkins - activist, Waterloo    ...Aug. 22, 2003

Dick Gephardt
State Sen. Bill Dotzler - ranking member on the Iowa Senate Economic Growth Appropriations Subcommittee, in his first term in the Iowa Senate (elected 2002).  Previously served three terms in the Iowa House.  UAW member.   ...announced Sept. 16, 2003

Northern Iowa University - Tim Judd

John Kerry
State Leadership List (Oct. 9, 2003)
State Rep. Deborah Berry
Tom Powers - President IAFF Local 66

Black Hawk County Chair, Veterans for Kerry
John Harrington - Waterloo   ...Army, Vietnam (Purple Heart).  American Legion Post 138; lifetime member DAV.

Labor Support (Aug. 18, 2003 release)
Jeff Danielson - Past President, IAFF Local 1366

Joe Lieberman
Rick Runez - chairman, Filipino-American Assn. of Blackhawk County.
Courtesy Mike Dec,
November 14, 2003 photos

Waterloo-Cedar Falls Courier
Ownership: Lee Enterprises, Davenport, IA
Daily Circulation 44,883; Sunday Circulation 52,450  (3/30/03)
Ownership: Raycom Media, Inc., Montgomery, AL 
Black Hawk
Tama   Benton

Copyright © 2003 Eric M. Appleman/Democracy in Action.