DES MOINES  19 precincts
Des Moines County County Seat: Burlington
Population, July 2002 est.: 41,458.    - 1.41% of total IA population of 2,936,760.
Registered Democrats (Active Aug. 1, 2003): 12,692.    - 2.41% of Democratic statewide total of 526,207.

Des Moines County Reg. (Active Aug. 1, 2003): Rep. 6,496 (23.35%)  Dem. 12,692 (45.62%)   NP 8,632 (31.03%)    Total: 27,820.
Total IA Reg. (Active. Aug. 1, 2003): Rep. 580,252 (32.45%)   Dem. 526,207 (29.43%)  Grn. 135   NP 681,394 (38.11%)  Total: 1,787,988.

Des Moines County Democratic Elected Officials
State Senators 
(Des Moines County encompasses Senate District 44)
44 - Thomas Courtney of Burlington
State Representatives
(Des Moines County encompasses House District 88 and part of 87)
88 - Dennis Cohoon of Burlington
All the county elected officials are Democrats:
Attorney Patrick C. Jackson
Auditor Carol Copeland
Supervisor Edgar A. Blow
Supervisor Timothy E. Hoschek
Supervisor David A. Miller
Recorder Kathryn S. Waterhouse
Sheriff Mike Johnstone
Treasurer Brenda A. Buck
Des Moines County Democratic Party
County Chair: Jeff Heland 
1st Vice Chair: Thomas Courtney
2nd Vice Chair: Cindy Heland
Treasurer: Richard D. Distelhorst
Secretary: Duane Kline
. Useful Links
Burlington Area Convention & Tourism Bureau
Burlington/West Burlington Area Chamber of Commerce

The Hawk Eye (Burlington)
KBUR AM 1490

The Campaigns In Des Moines County
Dean for America --
Edwards for President, Inc.  -- 419 Jefferson Street, Burlington  ...David Cooling
Gephardt for President, Inc. --  16282 Hwy 34, West Burlington
John Kerry for President, Inc.  --  311 3rd St., Burlington   ...Bridgett Petruzcok
Kucinich for President --

Key Supporters
Titles and affiliations are listed for identification purposes only.
Howard Dean
Elaine Baxter - former Secretary of State (1987-1994), Burlington   part of Dean's statewide leadership team (Sept. '03)

Labor Supporters (Aug. 29, 2003)
Elliott 'Andy' Anderson - UAW Local #807 retired, Burlington
Dawn Schulte - ISEA, Burlington
Matt Schulte - UAW Local #1237, Burlington
Bonnie Wilson - ISEA, Burlington

John Edwards
(April 4, May 29 and Aug. 22 releases)
Emmerich Adam - activist, West Burlington
Sandra Dockendorff - member of the Iowa Democratic Party State Central Committee, Danville
Joyce Garretson - activist, Salem
Cathy Johnson - teacher in Mediapolis, Burlington
Nancy Paul - activist, Burlington
Helen Rawlings - activist, Burlington
Michael Robinson - activist, Burlington

Dick Gephardt
State Sen. Thomas Courtney - currently serving his first term in the Iowa Senate.  A member of UAW local 807, Courtney retired from Case/New Holland after 30 years of service.  He has been a member of the Iowa Workforce Development and Southeast Iowa Health Center Boards.   Courtney served eight years on the Burlington School Board, including six years as president.  He and his wife, Donna have three children and three grandchildren. ...announced Sept. 29, 2003

John Kerry
Veterans for Kerry
Southeast Co-Regional Directors:
Michael and Theresa Fry - West Burlington   ...Air Force.  Commander, AMVets Post 29
Des Moines County Chair
Lyle Nixon - Burlington   ...Army, Vietnam.  Commander VFW Post 10102; American Legion; AMVets Post 29

Labor Support (Aug. 18, 2003 release)
Neil Brunner -   Retired, Steelworker
Michael Fry -  IBEW Local 13
Paul Niemann -  Teamsters Local 238
Frank Wiley -  Retired, Glass Molders, Pottery, Plastics, and Allied Workers

Dennis Kucinich
Richard D. Distelhorst
Rank and File Iowa Labor for Kucinich (Sept. 1, 2003)
Mike Edwards - UAW/CAP Local 807, Burlington


The Great River Bridge, connecting Iowa and Illinois across the Mississippi River, was completed in 1994.

Des Moines

Copyright © 2003 Eric M. Appleman/Democracy in Action.