John Kerry-Campaign Organization, California
John Kerry for President Inc.
On December 4, 2002, Sen. Kerry filed papers with the FEC establishing John Kerry for President Inc., an exploratory committee.  James M. Jordan served as the national campaign manager through November 9, 2003; he was replaced by Mary Beth Cahill, who previously served as chief of staff to Sen. Edward Kennedy. 

John Kerry for President Inc. California Leadership

Note: The campaign established finance offices in early 2003:
Los Angeles (6100 Wilshire #225) and San Francisco (166 South Park # 3)
San Francisco Office: 1844 Market Street   Los Angeles Office: 6100 Wilshire #230A 
also, for a brief time, a San Diego Office
Los Angeles Volunteer Office: Occidental Studios at 5907 Pico Blvd. (opened Feb. 22, 2004)

State Director Larry Grisolano
(started Feb. 15, 2004)  A partner in The Strategy Group's Los Angeles office, Grisolano has two decades of campaign experience.  Most recently he did the direct mail for Kerry's Iowa caucus campaign.  Served as Senior Consultant to the Gore 2000 primary campaigns in Iowa, Washington State and California.  Served as field director of the California Democratic Party in 1994.  Oversaw the Clinton-Gore coordinated campaign in California in 1992.  Worked in press and research for Chicago Mayor Richard M. Daley's re-election in 1991.  Managed Bill Hoppner's campaign for Governor of Nebraska in 1990.  Worked for U.S. Sen. Frank Lautenberg's re-election in 1988.  Began his career as an organizer for Tom Harkin's upset victory for the U.S. Senate in 1984.  B.A. degree with honors in political science from the University of Iowa; MBA candidate in marketing and entrepreneurship at Northwestern University's Kellogg Graduate School of Management.
Deputy State Director Doug Herman
Works with Grisolano in The Strategy Group's Los Angeles office.

Los Angeles
Southern California Political and Field Director Beth Leonard
Served as the Central Regional Field Director on Kerry's Iowa caucus campaign starting in March 2003. Directed Iowa Democrats' Coordinated Campaign in the 3rd CD in 2002 including the successful re-election of Congressman Boswell.  Grassroots coordinator for 25 states for the American Cancer Society's government relations department.  Worked in the press office for Tipper Gore at the White House.  M.A. in political management from the George Washington University.  B.S. in developmental psychology from Cal Poly, San Luis Obispo. 
Deputy Southern California-Field Director Tim Delmonico

Deputy Southern California-Electeds and Vols. Ari Melber

Deputy Southern California-L.A. and OC Electeds Steve Duron

Deputy Southern California-Labor Michael Teter

Student Coordinator Ian Graves

Latino Outreach Celine Cordero
Jenny Carreon-Lacey

Communications Director Laura Capps
Served as Communications Director on Kerry's Iowa caucus campaign starting in June 2003.  Director of Government Affairs at UC Berkeley from summer 2000 to 2003.  Served on the White House staff from 1995-98, first as executive assistant to Clinton senior advisor George Stephanopoulos, and then as a  presidential speechwriter.  Daughter of the late Congressman Walter Capps and now Congresswoman Lois Capps. 
Deputy Press Secretary Greta Lundeberg

California Scheduler Jessica Love


San Francisco
Northern California Political and Field Director Theo Yedinsky
Served as Political Director on Kerry's New Hampshire primary campaign starting in June 2003.  Caucus director for New Hampshire State Senate Democrats during the 2002 cycle.  Worked for the Democratic Leadership Council from 1999-2002 and for the New Democrat Network from 1997-99.  Previously a middle school teacher for three years. 
Deputy Northern California Chris Hayler

Deputy Northern California-Legislators Bridget Petruczok

Deputy Northern California Political Director Puja Pathak

Northern California Press Secretary Nathan Ballard

African American Outreach Wally Adeyemo

Women's Outreach and Fundraising Dolcy Anderson

Environmental Outreach Michael Schoenfeld


San Diego
Deputy Director-Congress Lisa Klebenaw

Veterans Outreach Zac Palmer


Sen. Dianne Feinstein     09/16/03
Rep. Mike Thompson (CA-1)    02/ /04   ...had backed Clark
Rep. Ellen Tauscher (CA-10)   02/13/04   ...had backed Lieberman
Rep. Tom Lantos (CA-12)    02/ /04
Rep. Lois Capps (CA-23)     01/24/04    ...had backed Gephardt
Rep. Brad Sherman (CA-27)    01/26/04
Rep. Howard Berman (CA-28)   02/ /04    ...had backed Gephardt
Rep. Adam Schiff (CA-29)    02/10/04    ...had backed Gephardt
Rep. Lucille Roybal Allard (CA-34)     02/ /04   ...had backed Dean
Rep. Juanita Millender McDonald (CA-37)
Rep. Linda Sanchez (CA-39)   01/26/04

Lt. Governor Cruz Bustamante  ...had backed Lieberman
Attorney General Bill Lockyer   ...had backed Dean
Treasurer Phil Angelides
Controller Steve Westly 
Board of Equalization John Chiang 

Los Angeles City Councilman and former Speaker of the California State Assembly Antonio Villaraigosa (also DNC Member)   07/28/03

Lynn Schenk, Chief of Staff to Gov. Gray Davis
Former SBA Administrator Aida Alvarez

State Legislators (list as of Feb. 17, 2004)
Senator Dede Alpert    D-39
Senator Jack Scott       D-21
Senator Nell Soto         D-32

Assemblymember Patty Berg D-1
Assemblymember Rudy Bermúdez D-56
Assemblymember Ronald Calderon D-58
Assemblymember Joseph Canciamilla D-11
Assemblymember Wilma Chan   D-16
Assemblymember Edward Chavez D-57
Assemblymember Judy Chu         D-49
Assemblymember Ellen Corbet    D-18
Assemblymember John Dutra D-20
Assemblymember Mervyn Dymally D-52
Assemblymember Dario Frommer D-43
Assemblymember Hannah-Beth Jackson D-35
Assemblymember Mark Leno      D-13
Assemblymember Sally Lieber     D-22
Assemblymember Carol Liu D-44
Assemblymember Alan Lowenthal D-54
Assemblymember Barbara Matthews D-17
Assemblymember Cindy  Montañez D-39
Assemblymember Gene Mullin D-19
Assemblymember George Nakano D-53
Assemblymember Joe Nation       D-6
Assemblymember Jenny OropezaD-55
Assemblymember Nicole Parra   D-30
Assemblymember Fran Pavley     D-41
Assemblymember Sarah Reyes    D-31
Assemblymember Simón Salinas  D-28
Assemblymember Juan Vargas     D-79
Assemblymember Lois Wolk       D-8

DNC Members
Steven K. Alari (Long Beach) 
Jeremy Bernard (member-at-large, LosAngeles) 
Christine Pelosi (Washington, DC) 
Robert Rankin (Carson) 
Alexandra "Alex" Gallardo-Rooker (First Vice Chair CDP) 
Vernon R. Watkins (member-at-large) 
Rosalind Wyman (Los Angeles)

Sacramento Bee (02/22/04) 
San Jose Mercury News (02/25/04) 
Los Angeles Daily News (02/ /04) 
San Bernardino County Sun (02/28/04) 
San Francisco Chronicle (02/29/04) 

Copyright © 2003, 2004  Eric M. Appleman/Democracy in Action