John Kerry-Campaign Organization, Georgia
John Kerry for President Inc.
On December 4, 2002, Sen. Kerry filed papers with the FEC establishing John Kerry for President Inc., an exploratory committee.  James M. Jordan served as the national campaign manager through November 9, 2003; he was replaced by Mary Beth Cahill, who previously served as chief of staff to Sen. Edward Kennedy.

 John Kerry for President Inc. Georgia Leadership

Campaign Headquarters: 1100 Spring St. Suite 700, Atlanta
State Director Stephen Lindsey
Lindsey previously served as Kerry's Tennessee state director.  He is a Tennessee native from Columbia (Maury County; central Tennessee).  Lindsey graduated from Columbia Central High School in 1989, and received a degree in Political Science and Sociology from the University of North Alabama in 1994.  He worked for various Democratic candidates from 1993-96.  In 1996 Lindsey returned to Columbia Central High School where he taught US Government for two years.  From 1998-2003, he worked for the Tennessee Democratic Party; when he left as the Deputy Director of the Party he had been in all of Tennessee's 95 Counties.
Political Director Angela Kouters
Worked on the Kerry campaign in New Hampshire and South Carolina.  Graduate of the College of Charleston, where she was student body president.
Field Director Addisu Demissie
Demissie has worked in Washington, DC as Research Director for the NAACP Legal Defense and Educational Fund, the country's oldest civil rights law firm, since he graduated from Yale University with a degree in Political Science in May 2001.  He is a founding member of 2020 Democrats. 

State Headquarters (Atlanta)
DeKalb County Field Director
Joe Maloney

Fulton County Field Directors 
Meredith Kelly
Mwitu Ndugu

N. Georgia Regional FD
Michelle Kirby

S. Atlanta Metro Regional FD
 Rick Siger

Albany Headquarters
SW GA Regional Field Director
Rob Hill 

Augusta Headquarters
Eastern GA Regional Field Director
 Josh Warren

Athens Headquarters
 NE GA Regional Field Director
Pat McKiernan

Columbus Headquarters
 Western GA Regional Field Director
 Brent Welder

Macon Headquarters
Central GA Regional Field Directors
Roger Austin
Ben Barnard

Savannah Headquarters
 NE GA Regional Field Directors
 Peter Applegate 
 Andrew Sullivan 

Volunteer Coordinator Carrie Glenn

Communications Director Holly Armstrong
Served as press secretary on Kerry's South Carolina campaign and director of constituency organizing for Kerry's campaign in Iowa (announced in Dec. 2003).  Ran Dr. Julie Thomas' congressional campaign in Iowa in 2002. 
Press Secretary Tara McGuiness


Former Senator Max Cleland is a co-chair of the Kerry campaign's National Steering Committee.

Georgia Steering Committee (as announced Feb. 23, 2004)
U.S. Congressman John Lewis, Atlanta    02/19/04

U.S. Congressman Sanford Bishop, Albany   02/21/04

U.S. Congresswoman Denise Majette, Decatur    02/06/04

Georgia Labor Commissioner Michael Thurmond   02/21/04

Macon Mayor Jack Ellis

Milledgeville Mayor Floyd Griffin

State Senator Mary Squires, DeKalb/Gwinnett Counties

State Senator Sam Zamarripa, Atlanta

State Senator Kasim Reed, Atlanta

State Senator Liane Levetan. DeKalb

State Senator Ed Harbison, Columbus

State Senator Steve Henson, DeKalb County

State Senator Connie Stokes, Lithonia

State Senator Steve Thompson, Powder Springs

State Senator Faye Smith, Baldwin County

State Representative Calvin Smyre, Columbus

State Representative Winfred Dukes, Albany

State Representative Pedro Marin, Duluth

State Representative Carl Von Epps, LaGrange

State Representative Billy Mitchell, DeKalb County

State Representative Lynmore James, Montezuma

State Representative Debbie Buckner, Junction City

State Representative Carl Von Epps, La Grange

Fulton County Sheriff Jackie Barrett

Public Service Commissioner David Burgess

DeKalb County Commissioner Henry "Hank" Johnson

Fulton County Commissioner Nancy A. Boxill

Harris County Chair Joann Harrison

Heard County Chair Larry Pike

Heard County Commissioner Matt Dean

Jasper County Chair Ronald James

Lincoln County Chair Rev. Denise Freeman

Meriwether County Chair Charlie Glanton

Webster County Chair Ivory Crawford

Savannah Alderman & President of Savannah Trial Lawyers Assn. Jeff Felser

Savannah Alderwoman Mary Osborne

Valdosta City Councilman & Former Mayor David Sumner

Democratic 5th Congressional District Chair Shelia Jones

Bulloch County Democratic Chair Larry Gibbs

Brantley County Democratic Chair Floyd Holt

Clarke County Democratic Chair & State Democratic Exec. Comm. Member John Jeffreys

Decatur County Democratic Chair Carolyn Barbree

Dougherty County Democratic Chair James Bush

Elbert County Democratic Chair Betty Burriss

Franklin County Democratic Chair Doug Coggins

Fmr. Gwinnett County Democratic Chair Stephen Day

Lowndes County Chair Dr. Dennis Marks

Newton County Democratic Chair Charles Woods

Pierce County Democratic Chair Sue Collins

Spalding County Democratic Chair Frank Harris

Schley County Democratic Chair Lewis Phillips

Troup County Democratic Chair Hazel Crowe

Richard Ray, President, Georgia AFL-CIO (and DNC Member)

Herb Butler, Atlanta UAW Director, 1969-1990

R.S. "Bo" Marlow, President Local 882, United Automobile Workers

Roger Todd, President CWA Local 3201, Albany

James Williams, Valdosta AmVets post 607 Commander

Clint Allen, President Albany-Southwest GA Labor Council

Waymon Stroud, Teamsters President, local 728

Leavon Shuman, Chair of Political Educ., Int'l Longshoreman Assn. Local 1414

Carole Dabbs, Democratic National Committee Member, Kennesaw

Herb Mabry, Democratic National Committee Member, Marietta

David Worley, Former State Party Chair, Peachtree City

Richard Pfister, State Democratic Committee Member, Savannah

Lawton Jordan, Red Clay Democrats, Atlanta

Bertis Downs, General Counsel, R.E.M., Athens

David Franklin, Professor, Young Harris College, Young Harris

Kent Alexander, General Counsel, Emory University, Atlanta

Windsor Jordan, Small Business Owner, Atlanta

late endorsement: Atlanta Mayor Shirley Franklin

Atlanta Journal Constitution (02/27/04)


Copyright © 2004  Eric M. Appleman/Democracy in Action