John Kerry-Campaign Organization, New Mexico
John Kerry for President Inc.
On December 4, 2002, Sen. Kerry filed papers with the FEC establishing John Kerry for President Inc., an exploratory committee.  James M. Jordan served as the national campaign manager through November 9, 2003; he was replaced by Mary Beth Cahill, who previously served as chief of staff to Sen. Edward Kennedy.
 John Kerry for President Inc. New Mexico Leadership
Campaign Headquarters: 301 Rio Grande Blvd. NW, Suite A, Albuquerque (moved in Oct. 1, 2003)
New Mexico State Director Geri Prado
(started August 2003)  Before moving to New Mexico to work on the campaign, Prado was political director for Service Employees International Union (SEIU) Local 105 in Colorado.  There she ran several campaigns and worked on legislation for the union.  Worked field in the last month of Tom Strickland's 2002 U.S. Senate campaign under the Democratic coordinated effort and as field director for Congresswoman Diana DeGette's 2002 campaign; also worked as a senior congressional aide in DeGette's district office.  Ran a state house race in Denver and was the Fair Housing Director for NEWSED, a non-profit that serves low-income families and communities.  Worked in the Manhattan District Attorney's office.  Graduate of the University of Colorado at Boulder.

CD 1 - Raul Alvillar
Worked for the ATR research institute at the University of New Mexico.  Deputy field organizer on Richard Romero for Congress, 2002.  District scheduler for Congressman Udall, 2000-02.  Volunteer coordinator on the 2000 NM Coordinated Campaign.  Started off in politics working for the Democratic Party of New Mexico as originator of the party's e-news newsletter.  

CD 2 - Art Terrazas
B.A. in Political science from New Mexico State University in Las Cruces, 2003.  Field organizer, responsible for four counties, on Art Trujillo's 2002 campaign for Land Commissioner.  From Anthony, NM. 

CD 3 - Frank Murray

New Mexico Steering Committee
 (announced Nov. 7, 2003)
Campaign Committee Co-Chairs
Lieutenant Governor Diane Denish  Sept. 5, 2003
Speaker of the House Ben Lujan (Dist. 46, Santa Fe)
John Pound - attorney and activist, Santa Fe

Finance Committee Chair:
Johnny Cope

Clara Apodaca - activist, Santa Fe
Christopher Baca - executive director of YDI Headstart, Albuquerque
David D. Cooper - small business owner, Albuquerque
Brian Egolf, Sr. - Santa Fe
John M. Garcia - veteran, Santa Fe
Representative Mary Helen Garcia (Dist. 34, Las Cruces)
Councilman Eric Griego, Albuquerque Dist. 3
Robert Haspel - environmental activist, Santa Fe
Mayor John H. Hooker, Via de Los Ranchos
David H. Kelsey - attorney, Albuquerque
Emily Kane, President, NMPFF
Councilman Joseph M. Maestas, Espanola
Lori Martinez - former executive director of the State Democratic Party, Albuquerque
Gloria Nieto - DNC Member, Santa Fe
Regis Pecos - Native American activist, Santa Fe
Singer Rankin - women's activist, Santa Fe
Lynda Taylor - environmental activist, Santa Fe
John Wertheim - attorney, Albuquerque
Mrs. Nancy Wirth - activist, Santa Fe

Also note:
Santa Fe New Mexican endorsed Sen. Kerry on Jan. 29, 2004.

Copyright © 2003, 2004  Eric M. Appleman/Democracy in Action