John Kerry-Campaign Organization, South Carolina
John Kerry for President Inc.
On December 4, 2002, Sen. Kerry filed papers with the FEC establishing John Kerry for President Inc., an exploratory committee.  James M. Jordan served as the national campaign manager through November 9, 2003; he was replaced by Mary Beth Cahill, who previously served as chief of staff to Sen. Edward Kennedy. 
John Kerry for President Inc. South Carolina Leadership
Campaign Headquarters: 1200 Main Street (corner of Main & Gervais), Suite 1000, Columbia 
Office opened July 1, 2003; grand opening on Aug. 21, 2003 w/ Alex and Zoe Sanders.
Charleston Office: 215 East Bay Street, 2nd Floor

On Jan. 22, 2004 the campaign reported "over 22 staff in place, with 56 key supporters throughout South Carolina's 46 counties."
State Director James Dukes
(started June 15, 2003)  Served as Field Representative for Sen. Fritz Hollings from February 1999-June 2003.  Previously served as Outreach Director for Sen. Hollings' 1998 campaign and as regional field director for the South Carolina Democratic Party Coordinated Campaigns in 2002 and 2000.  Also worked on the special congressional campaign of Brent Weaver for Congress in 2001.  Attended Coastal Carolina University, majored in Political Science.
Field Director Michelle Macrina
Served as treasurer of Greenville County Democrats through to the beginning of 2003.  Field director for Sen. Max Cleland's 2002 re-election campaign.  Regional field director for the South Carolina Democratic Party Coordinated Campaign in 2002.

Field Staff
CD1 - Mike McCauley
CD2 - Daron Myers
CD3 - Daniel Barton
CD4 - Danielle Black
CD5 - Damian Williams
CD6 - Duane Cooper
Press Secretary Holly Armstrong
Announced as director of constituency organizing for Kerry's campaign in Iowa in Dec. 2003.  Ran Dr. Julie Thomas' congressional campaign in Iowa in 2002.
Voter Contact Programs Maclyn Humphrey


Senator Ernest "Fritz" Hollings    Jan. 22, 2004
Native of Charleston, S.C.; served as U.S. Army officer in World War II; elected to the U.S. Senate in 1966 to fill the unexpired term of Olin Johnson; re-elected six times since then; ran for President in 1984. 

Congressman James Clyburn   Jan. 29, 2004
Sumter native, first elected to Congress in 1992.  Previously served as South Carolina Human Affairs Commissioner, appointed by Gov. John C. West in 1974. 

Don Fowler Jan. 30, 2004 (eve of the debate)
Former Democratic National Committee chairman (1995-97).  Currently serves as Richland County Democratic Chair.

State Sen. John W. Drummond of Greenwood  (Dist. 10 - Abbeville & Greenwood Cos.) - President Pro Tempore Emeritus and decorated WWII fighter pilot 
State Sen. Phil Leventis of Sumter  (Dist. 35 - Sumter & Lee Cos.)
State Rep. James E. Smith, Jr. of Columbia  (Dist. 72-Richland Co.) -House Democratic Leader 
State Rep. Jerry N. Govan, Jr. of Orangeburg  (Dist. 95-Orangeburg Co.) - chairman of the Legislative Black Caucus
State Rep. J. Todd Rutherford of Columbia (Dist. 74-Richland Co.)
State Rep. Jimmy Bales of Eastover  (Dist. 80 - Richland County)

Alex Sanders, Democratic nominee for U.S. Senate in 2002; President of the College of Charleston from 1992 - 2001;Chief Judge of the South Carolina State Court of Appeals from 1983 - 1992; former State Senator.  April 13, 2003
Steve Benjamin, 2002 candidate for South Carolina Attorney General
Bernice Scott, Chair of the Richland County Council
Waymon Mumford, Member of Florence County Council
Kelvin Washington, Williamsburg County Sheriff 

Jane Emerson, former president of Planned Parenthood
Marie-Louise Ramsdale, former director of First Steps
Samuel Tenenbaum, community activist 
Zoe Sanders Nettles, Women for Kerry
Ken Riley, President Longshoreman’s Local 1422
Andy Brack, 2000 1st Congressional District Democratic nominee
General Steve Cheney, former Commander of Parris Island
Reverend David Alston, Vietnam Swift Boat Crew Mate
Ben Gregg, Democratic activist
JoEtta Chewning, Florence County Executive Committeewoman
Israel Brooks, former U.S. Marshall, SC First Black Highway patrolman

Copyright © 2003, 2004  Eric M. Appleman/Democracy in Action