Vice Chair Election   
Feb. 12, 2005--The selection of Howard Dean as chair was a foregone conclusion, but there was plenty of jockeying for the vice chair positions.  Five candidates competed for the two female vice chair positions: incumbent Linda Chavez-Thompson, Nancy Jane Woodside, Susan Turnbull, Marjorie Fields Harris and Diane Wilkerson.  Four candidates were on the ballot for the one male vice chair position: Alvaro Cifuentes, Greg Meeks, Nelson Diaz and Mike Honda

Rep. Meeks had withdrawn and endorsed Honda, yet he spoke as a candidate and remained on the ballot.  In a dramatic turn of events, during his speech Meeks called Diaz up onto the stage and Diaz also endorsed Honda.  Pandemonium resulted; supporters of  Cifuentes cried foul.  The DNC members broke into chants of "Alvaro" and "Honda."  (See: Striking a Deal?)

When the votes were counted Chavez-Thompson and Turnbull won the female positions and Honda won the male position.  An underlying consideration in this contest was diversity; there were Hispanics, African Americans, Caucasians and an Asian American competing.

Copyright © 2005  Eric M. Appleman/Democracy in Action.