Platform Committee (formally known as the Committee on Resolutions)

Senate Majority Leader Bill Frist

Co-Chairs: Congresswoman Melissa Hart (PA-4) and Governor Bill Owens (CO)

Comprised of one male and one female delegate from every state and territory.

Five Subcommittees:
Winning the War on Terror - Gov. Bill Owens (CO)
Ushering in an Ownership Era - Mayor Janet Creighton (Canton, OH)
Building an Innovative, Globally Competitive Economy - Rep. Phil English (PA-3)
Strengthening Our Communities - Rep. Melissa Hart (PA-4)
Protecting Our Families - Gov. Haley Barbour (MS)

Executive Director
Anne Phelps
(announced July 28, 2004) Phelps served as Special Assistant to President George W. Bush for Domestic Policy, 2001-2002.  She was a Member of the Republican Platform Committee staff in 2000. She was previously chief health advisor to Senator Bill Frist, M.D., and staff director for his health subcommittee.

Communications Director
Ginny Wolfe
(announced July 28, 2004) Former Counselor to Senate Majority Leader, Bill Frist, M.D.  Wolfe served as Director of Communications for the NRSC's during the successful effort to regain the Senate majority in 2002.  In 2000, Wolfe served as Communications Director for the Republican Platform.

Republican National Committee Press Release-August 18, 2004

CONTACT:   Ginny Wolfe
Wednesday, August 18, 2004


Washington, DC – Senate Majority Leader Bill Frist, M.D. (R-TN), Chairman of the 2004 Platform Committee, today announced the five subcommittees of the 2004 Platform Committee.  Senator Frist also announced the subcommittee leadership assignments, including: Colorado Governor Bill Owens will chair Winning the War on Terror; Canton, Ohio Mayor Janet Creighton will chair Ushering in an Ownership Era; Representative Phil English will chair Building an Innovative, Globally Competitive Economy; Representative Melissa Hart will chair Strengthening our Communities; and Governor Haley Barbour will chair Protecting Our Families.  The 2004 Platform Committee will meet August 25 – 26, 2004 in New York City.

“We are so pleased that these distinguished individuals have committed their time and talent to help draft the 2004 Republican Party Platform.” said Senator Frist.   “Their expertise and commitment to Republican principles will be crucial to the development of a platform that is broad, substantive and offers a clear choice for American voters.”

Winning the War on Terror: Subcommittee topics include national security issues, War on Terror, Homeland Security, and international leadership. Colorado Governor Bill Owens will serve as Chair.  Called "the best governor in America" by National Review magazine, Bill Owens was sworn in as Colorado's 40th Governor in January 1999.  He was re-elected in 2002 with the greatest majority in Colorado history. Gov. Owens also serves as Co-Chair of the 2004 Platform Committee.

Ushering in an Ownership Era: Subcommittee topics include as tax cuts, Social Security, retirement savings, homeownership, and small business issues.  Janet Weir Creighton, Mayor of Canton, Ohio, will serve as Chair.  Creighton made history in 2003 as the first woman elected as Mayor of Canton, Ohio. 

Building an Innovative, Globally Competitive Economy: Subcommittee topics include tax reform, science & technology, energy, trade, jobs and education.  Representative Phil English will serve as Chair.  Rep. English was re-elected in 2002 to his fifth term to serve northwestern Pennsylvania's newly created 3rd District.  A strong advocate for economic growth, English is committed to providing working families with responsible tax relief and has been a champion of fair trade.

Strengthening Our Communities: Subcommittee topics include health care, the environment, veterans’ issues, welfare, and immigration.  Representative Melissa Hart (R-PA) will serve as Chair.  Rep. Hart was overwhelmingly reelected in 2002 to her second term serving the people of the 4th District.  The congresswoman is the first female Republican from Pennsylvania elected to serve in the U.S. House of Representatives and was the first female Republican elected to a full term in the state Senate.  Rep. Hart also serves serve as Co-Chair of the 2004 Platform Committee.

Protecting Our Families: Subcommittee topics include the protection of life, families and children.  Mississippi Governor Haley Barbour will serve as Chair. Barbour was elected on November 4, 2003 in the largest turnout in a gubernatorial election in state history.  Governor Barbour also served two terms as Chairman of the Republican National Committee.

Members of the media should contact the Platform Committee press office for interviews with Platform Committee Leadership.

The 2004 Platform Committee will convene on Wednesday, August 25 and Thursday, August 26 at the Javits Center. Subcommittees will meet on Wednesday, August 25.  Full Committee meetings are scheduled on both August 25 and 26.  Meetings are open to the press.   Details on the press credentialing process will be sent to media in the coming week. 

The 2004 Platform Committee is responsible for articulating the values and views of the Republican Party.  The committee members will work with delegates from across the nation to build a platform that reflects the priorities of the majority of Americans.

Senate Majority Leader Bill Frist (TN) will serve as Chairman of the 2004 Platform Committee. Congresswoman Melissa Hart (PA) and Colorado Governor Bill Owens will serve as Co-Chairs.  Following a tradition set in 1968, the Chairmanship of the Platform Committee rotates among governors and members of the House and Senate.  The Platform Committee, also known as the Committee on Resolutions, is comprised of one male and one female delegate from every state and territory.

The Republican National Convention will be held for the first time ever in New York City at Madison Square Garden from August 30 – September 2, 2004.  For more information about the 2004 Republican National Convention, please visit

To submit your recommendations for the 2004 Republican National Platform, please visit: